Frequently Asked Questions
You can prepay property taxes on the installment plan by filing an application with your tax collector by April 30 of the year taxes are assessed (not the year they are due).
If you are entitled to claim homestead tax exemption, you may defer payment of part of the combined total taxes, including non-ad valorem assessments (see section 197.252, Florida Statutes). Tax deferrals are a priority tax lien on the property. You must file Form DR- 570 with your tax collector each year by March 31. Approval will defer taxes that are more than 5 percent of last year’s total household income. If your total household income last year was less than $10,000, all ad valorem taxes and non-ad valorem assessments will be deferred. If you are at least 65 years old, you may defer the portion of the tax that is more than 3 percent of your household income for the previous year. If your previous year’s household income was less than the current income limit and you are at least 65 years old, approval can defer all ad valorem taxes and non-ad valorem assessments. For more information, contact your tax collector or see section 197.252, Florida Statutes.